Sunday, November 15, 2009

When All The 'Lil Monster's Come Out To Play....

Lady GaGa - The Fame: Monster (2009)

Special for this entry, to show my Love, Love, Love for GaGa, I'm doing this review "live" as I am listening to all the tracks the first/second time(s).

1. Bad Romance
2. Alejandro
3. Monster
4. Speechless
5. Dance In The Dark
6. Telephone (feat. Beyoncé)
7. So Happy I Could Die
8. Teeth

"Bad Romance" is the current single, and it is tearing up the radio like a wild fire. The Video is also getting MILLIONS of views and everyone is at a resounding lust for this song. "Bad Romance" is probably her strongest single since "PokerFace". The song is catchy pop, mixed with a dark edge; the perfect intro to Monster. Although I have heard the demo of the song, and the radio edit, this is the first time I have heard the the album version, and it is like a hybrid mix of the two; totally fabulous in every way.

"Alejandro" is probably my favourite track on the album. it was the first one to leak from the album (aside from "Bad Romance"), and even though it was only the demo, I was in lust with this song. The album version is 10x better. It got more of an intro, and more polishing all around. I thought the demo was perfect as it was, but this just proves that Lady GaGa and her team of producers are not to be messed with or underestimated. "Alejandro" has a very strong Ace of Base vibe to it, but definitely updated with GaGa's flavour.

"Monster" is rumoured to be the 3rd single, and would makes sense to do so as it is a club banger for sure. When I hear it it, it makes me think horror movie at a high school dance, but the movie was made to look like the 80's, but made in the 2000's. And the Chorus/hook of this song is gonna snag everyone who hears it and make them wanna dance.

"Speechless" is the only "ballad" on this album, and is another rumoured single (4th). and has been stated by GaGa that it is her favourite song of the album, not to mention (in her opinion) the strongest song she has written to date. I don't disagree. Gaga is not known for her singing abilities, but for her crazy hooks and ridiculous outfits during public appearances (which I also love). This song will change anyone's mind who has doubted her talent. It is also much better than the ballad on her last album "Brown Eyes", which was good, but very awkward to listen to frequently.

"Dance In The Dark" is synth-pop and over the top. It was released along with "Alejandro" as a promotional single for the album last week and was received very well by fans, critics, and everyone else alike. It fits very well on Monster as it has a dark feel to it, especially when listing the names of the dead celebrities who (I assume) have made an impact on her creatively, but is not a downer. It is definitely a contender to be released as a proper single.

"Telephone" is the second collaboration that GaGa has done with Beyoncé, but unlike the "Video Phone (Extended Mix)", GaGa and B's voices sound more blended and less forced. the song starts slow-ish and then starts into a hot beat and hypnotic lyrics. The song was confirmed recently as the next single, which goes well with "Video Phone" being Beyoncé's latest single. "Telephone" will chart higher than "Video Phone", but videos from both are highly anticipated.

"So Happy I Could Die", down tempo thogh it may be, it's still very dance-able and fantastic. I'm not falling instantly in live with it, but give it 'til the Play Count of 3 and it will be much loved. I don't have much to say about it, other than that it is the weakest song on the album/EP.

"Teeth" is the strangest song on the album, but in the BEST FUCKING WAY POSSIBLE! Think the heat/sex factor of Britney's "Breathe On Me" mixed with music from "The Jungle Book" or "Tarzan" (like I said, strange, but fucking HOT). It is a totally fun song to sing and grind to. Show Me Your Teeth!

Summing up, The Fame: Monster is the best "Album" of 2009. although it is technically a EP for a re-release of 2008's The Fame, it is being released as a standalone album for those who already own The Fame, or as a Deluxe Edition with Monster as Disc 1 and the Fame as Disc 2. There is also a Limited Edition box which contains a bunch of GaGa goodies, including a lock of her hair (ick...) all at a steep price tag of $100. The las edition will be individually numbered, so they are a real collector's item and is only meant for the hardcore fans who have the wallet to support their fandom.

The Fame: Monster: 10/10

Album In Stores and Online November 23rd, Limited Edition Box out December 15th. Pre-Order Here.